The task of the Scientific Committee is to assure a high quality content of the conference. Thus, the work of the Scientific Committee is to

  • peer review and select the best extended abstracts and posters and invite them for submitting full papers and posters or videos,
  • support the quality assurance of the full papers prior to their publication,
  • act as chairs and discussants in the thematic sessions and the mission sessions,
  • contribute to the identification and contacting of further suitable panellists and speakers and/or participate in some of the plenary discussion panels,
  • support the dissemination of the conference through their networks and communication channels.

The Scientific Committee, chaired by Helga Nowotny (Chair of the ERA Council Forum Austria and Member of the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development, Former President of the European Research Council), will be continuously expanded. Currently, it consists of the following members:

  • Paul Benneworth: Senior researcher at the Center for Higher Education Policy Studies at the University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Olivier Bouin: Director of the Foundation-Excellence Laboratory “Network of French Institutes for Advanced Study”
  • Ulrike Felt, University of Vienna, Professor of Science and Technology Studies (Vice chair of the Scientific Committee)
  • Yves Gingras: Scientific Director of the Observatory of Science and Technology (OST), Montréal, Canada
  • Poul Holm: Professor of Environmental History, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Jürgen Howaldt: Director of the Social Research Centre at TU Dortmund University and Professor at the Faculty of Economics, Dortmund, Germany
  • Carina Keskitalo: Member of High Level Group on Scientific Advisors of the EC, Professor at Umeå University, Umeå, Sweden
  • Kirsten M. Langkilde: Director of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland, Academy of Art and Design, Basel, Switzerland
  • Stefania Milan: Associate Professor of New Media and Digital Culture at the University of Amsterdam and of Media Innovation at the University of Oslo, Amsterdam/Oslo, Netherlands/Norway
  • Andrea Pető: Professor in the Department of Gender Studies at Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • Claudio M. Radaelli: Professor of Public Policy, University College London, Department of Political Science, United Kingdom
  • Emanuela Reale: Senior Researcher at IRCRES (Research Institute on Sustainable Economic Growth) – CNR (National Research Council), Roma, Italy
  • Sarah de Rijcke: Professor of Science and Evaluation Studies and deputy director at CWTS, Leiden, Netherlands
  • Evelyn Ruppert: Professor at the Goldsmiths University of London, London, United Kingdom
  • Klaus Schuch: Scientific Director of the Centre for Social Innovation, Vienna, Austria
  • Marta Soler: Professor at the University of Barcelona (Spain) and Director of CREA, Community of Research on Excellence for All.
  • Jack Spaapen: Emeritus senior policy advisor at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Science, Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Tereza Stöckelova: Researcher and editor in chief at the Institute of Sociology of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Johannes Vogel: General Director of the Museum for Natural History Berlin and Chair of the European Citizen Science Association, Berlin, Germany
  • Milena Zic-Fuchs: Professor at the University of Zagreb, Croatia, Fellow of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Member of Academia Europaea.

The tasks of the Local Advisory Board are to

  • support the programmatic layout of the conference (done – see this proposal),
  • propose members of the scientific committee (done – see above),
  • mobilize their fellow scientific communities to participate in the conference,
  • act as substitutes for chairs and discussants in case of non-attendance caused by illness etc.

The following 12 persons are members of the Local Advisory Board, which is chaired by Mr. Reiter-Pázmándy from the Austrian Federal Ministry or Education, Science and Research, who represents the Austrian EU Council Presidency:

  1. Tara Andrews, University of Vienna, Professor of Digital Humanities
  2. Ulrike Felt, University of Vienna, Professor of Science and Technology Studies
  3. Christian Fleck, Professor at the Department of Sociology at the University of Graz
  4. Michaela Glanz, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, Research Service
  5. Barbara Horejs, Professor at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Oriental and European Archaeology
  6. Thomas König, Senior Researcher at the Institute for Advanced Studies, Political Science Department
  7. Katja Mayer, Senior Researcher at the Centre for Social Innovation, expert on Open Science
  8. Monika Mokre, Professor at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Culture Studies and Theatre History
  9. Stephanie Rammel, Austrian Research Promotion Agency, SSH-NCP
  10. Matthias Reiter-Pázmándy, Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research; Member of the Programme Committee
  11. Klaus Schuch, Director of the Centre for Social Innovation
  12. Frank Welz, Professor at the University of Innsbruck, School of Social and Political Sciences